Think, Thank, Thunk!

Posted on December 7, 2011

2


Thanks for the votes and nominations!

Hurrah! It’s Edubling season again! Medals are pinned to chests, backs are slapped and awesomeness abounds. As always, the key to maintaining a sense of proportion at this time is to avoid getting carried away. While I wince at the sometimes desperate-sounding pleas of vote-for-me, vote-for-me, vote-for-me, I also tend to cringe at overly-earnest don’t-vote-for-me-I-am-NOT-a-commodity discourse.

Fortunately, most people seem to keep a clear head and treat the whole thing as a bit of harmless fun which makes people feel good about their blogging. Because, let’s face it, the need for peer validation is probably as hard-wired into us as our desire for food, drink and the occasional spot of rumpy-pumpy. In moderation, and taken with a pinch of salt, it’s quite nice and makes us go all gooey! … And, for those who are worried about the feelings of bloggers who were not nominated, to be perfectly honest I’m sure they won’t lose any sleep over it. As the nominated/winners will also remember: it really isn’t that important. Life’s too short and there are far more important things to worry about!

Anyway, back to the main point of this post. Although I’ve largely taken a back seat as regards this year’s Edublog Award festivities (apart from taking the proverbial Michael now and again), it would be ungrateful of me not to thank the people who have been kind enough to support this blog. So, I hereby express my gratitude to everybody who nominated or voted for Tefltecher! Thank you!

Note : I am particularly grateful to Kieran Donaghy, Pascal Shaw and Steve Muir for their blog post nominations (if I’ve left anyone out, please accept my apologies).

I was going to gush a bit further, but as gushing is not really my thing, I thought I’d just post a new lesson plan. The theme is …  you guessed it … thanking! I hope you find it useful! Ian James | @ij64 (13/11/11)

The Thank You Lesson

Step One : Lead-in

Show your students the “Thank You Wordle” below and ask them to identify the languages.

  1. Answers : Shukran – Arabic | Eskerrik asko – Basque | Xièxie – Chinese | Dank u – Dutch | Merci – French | Grazie – Italian | Danke schön – German | Grazie – Italian | Arigato – Japanese | Mange takk – Norwegian | Obrigado – Portugese | Spasiba – Russian | Gracias – Spanish | Diolch – Welsh
  2. See if you can agree on which sound the most “thankful”. You may also like to do a bit of research and then chat about the etymology of some of the expressions.

Step Two : Conversation

  1. Give your students time to read and think about the following questions.
  2. Ask them to discuss the questions in pairs or small groups.

Step Three : Video

  1. Focus on Question 7 from the above activity and do a little open-class chatting on the shoulds and shouldn’ts of expressing gratitude when receiving presents.
  2. Show your students the video below and ask them to take notes on the advice given. To round up, ask your students to what extent they agree with the advice.

Step Four : Write or record thanks

  1. Ask your students to think of someone in their family or social circle that they would like to thank.
  2. Give them time to think, then ask them to explain who they would like to thank and why.
  3. For homework, suggest that they express their gratitude to their chosen person in one of the following ways (you may of course like to give feedback on your students’ work before they send it off):
  • Write and send a Thank You letter using a simple text-publishing tool like Pen.io.
  • Record and send a Thank You audio message using a voice-recording tool like Vocaroo (tutorial by Russell Stannard here).
  • Record and send a Thank You video message using a video-recording platform such as MailVu (tutorial by Russell Stannard here).

That’s about all for now! But, before you leave …

… click here for a final Thank You!
.